Thursday, 15 May 2014

Tips to work with the alignment editor - SDL Studio SP1

This may help if you have some difficulties to set your alignment project correctly.

1.    If the alignment is not perfect, set some connections manually and use the “Realign” button. Make some tests to get an idea how the “Realign” function works and use it instead of connecting manually each segment pair. You will be faster.

2.    Studio doesn't check if you choose the right translation memory (TM) with the right languages. Be careful when setting up your alignment project.
If you want to check the selected TM before importing your aligned translation units, click on the "Import into Translation Memory" text (with the down-arrow) and select "Advanced Import"



In the opening window, you can change the TM and also the fields and values that have to be saved with the translation units (TUs).

3.    If the segmentation in the source or the target text is not correct, there are 2 possible reasons for this:
a.    The file type settings are not correctly set. In this case you will see the same problem in both source and target sides and you will have to troubleshoot the corresponding file type filter
b.    The segmentation rules of the TM are not correctly set. Segmentation rules have to be set for each single language.


Note that the Realign Button won’t change the segmentation of the files to align: after a change of the segmentation rules, you will have to start over the alignment of your files to get new *.sdlalign files.

4.    Studio tries to align each segment of the source file with each segment of the target file. If one file has a paragraph more (which has not been translated yet for example), erase this part before aligning. This will help the alignment work and the final result.

5.    If you have imported aligned TUs in a false TM, you can delete them with a filter and the batch delete function in the "Translation Memories" view:

First set a new filter like illustrated below (Value is the name of the origin sdlalign file) and save it.


Then run the batch delete with the new filter selected.


You can start again…

No comments:

Post a Comment